Sunday, 26 March 2017

What are Permissions and Explain Different Types of Permissions by NetworkingGeeks

There are different types of permissions available in windows server to manage resources. Permission defines the type of access granted to a user, group or computer to access resources.. Permission can be applied to resources such as files, folders and printers. It is like privilege to read file, delete a file or to create a new file in folder.

There are two types of privilege. they are,

  • Security level permission
  • Share level permission  
Security level Permission
Here we will discuss the requirements where we can implement security level permission. There is long list of it and is very important that every one should keep these things in mind.
  • Security level permission can be implemented only on NTFS(New Technology File System) Partition.
  • Security or NTFS permission can be set on drives, folders and files.
  • By default security level permission will be inherited from its parent drive or folder.
  • File permission overrides folder permission.
  • Creators of the files and folders are their owners.
  • Different Security permissions are Full control, Modify, Read & Execute, Write, Read, List Folder Content.

Share Level Permission

  • It can be implemented on NTFS as well as FAT Partitions.
  • It can be set on Drives and Shared Folders but not on files.

What is Shared Folder?

  • Shared folder can be accessed from network.
  • When you copy and move a shared folder, the folder will no longer be shared.
  • To hide a shared folder, include a $ sign after the name of the shared folder & user access hidden shared folder by typing UNC (Universal naming Convention) path. 
  • Different Share level Permissions are Read, Read/Write.
If you like this post comment below and follow us for new updates.
Thanks (Smartyy Sunny)

No comments:

Post a Comment